error: Content is protected !!

WAIT FOR 2026! Museveni Bans Creation of New Districts, Municipalities, Cities

President Yoweri Museveni

President Yoweri Kaguta Tibuhaburwa Museveni has suspended the creation of new cities, municipalities, and other administrative units until the end of his current term of office. 

On March 14, 2022, cabinet met to discuss the issue of creation of new administrative units, among other issues.

According to ICT and National Guidance minister Dr Chris Baryomunsi, a resolution to freeze the creation of new municipalities, cities, districts and other administrative units was reached.

“Cabinet further directed that no more administrative units should be created between now and the end of this term in 2026,” said Baryomunsi.

Uganda currently has about 135 districts, 10 cities, 31 municipalities, 20 city divisions, 89 municipal divisions, 580 town councils, 2,184 sub counties, 10,595 parishes and 70,262 villages.

NEW SALARY STRUCTURE: See How Much Teachers, Doctors, Judges & Other Government Employees Will Be Earning Every Month Starting July 2022

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!