26.7 C
Thursday, August 11, 2022

UNOPPOSED, NO CHANGE! 67 NRM Aspirants Left in Tears as CEC Gives Current EALA MPs Another Five-Year Term

The Central Executive Committee (CEC) of the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) has resolved that the current Ugandan MPs in the regional East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) should sail through unopposed for a second and final five-year term.

According to Richard Todwong, the secretary general of the NRM, the 10th meeting of the fourth NRM CEC that convened at Entebbe on July 08, 2022 discussed the issue of the forthcoming EALA elections.

Last week, NRM Electoral Commission (EC) led by its Chairperson Dr Fred Tanga Odoi announced that six seats were up for grabs at EALA and called on interested party members to apply for consideration by the party organs.

A total of 130 candidates expressed interest in representing Uganda in the Arusha-based EALA on the NRM ticket.

SG Todwong says that at least 63 candidates dropped out of the race, leaving only 67 party members seeking the NRM ticket.

In its resolution number 9/4/080722, the NRM CEC resolved that “the incumbent EALA members be maintained, in recognition of their exceptional performance, to continue their tenure for another term as members of the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).”

NRM CEC has now endorsed the six current MPs for consideration by the party’s parliamentary caucus.

The six incumbent EALA MPs on NRM ticket are: Rose Akol Okullu, James Kakooza, Mary Mugyenyi, Paul Musamali Mwasa, Dennis Namara and George Stephen Odongo.

READ: Tight Race as 11 Opposition Party Bosses Express Interest in EALA MP Seat

Pearl Times Reporter
Pearl Times Reporterhttps://pearltimes.co.ug
Latest Uganda news, politics, business, health and entertainment coverage.

Related Articles


- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -
error: Content is protected !!