Tight Race As 11 Opposition Party Bosses Express Interest In EALA MP Seat - The Pearl Times Tight Race As 11 Opposition Party Bosses Express Interest In EALA MP Seat - The Pearl Times

This is your main content.

error: Content is protected !!

Tight Race as 11 Opposition Party Bosses Express Interest in EALA MP Seat

DP Secretary General Gerald Siranda. Courtesy Photo

A number of opposition Democratic Party (DP) senior leaders have expressed interest in vying for MP seats in the fifth assembly of the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

The term of office for EALA’s fourth assembly will come to an end in 2022.

And Ugandan political parties have started on internal processes to choose flag bearers for the EALA parliamentary race.

DP is one of the political parties which have already announced roadmaps for the identification of candidates.

According to a statement by the party’s spokesperson Opio Okoler, the National Executive Committee (NEC) resolved that the nominations happen next month while the elections will take place in December 2021.

“The Democratic Party NEC resolved that the internal process leading to the identification of EALA candidates should begin on November 15th and 16th, 2021 with nomination of candidates,” said Okoler.

“It was resolved that all applicants should present four people coming from different regions of the country. The internal elections will be held on December 6th, 2021 when members of NEC who form the electoral college will convene.”

He also revealed some of the people who have expressed interest in the EALA slots.

In the current assembly, Uganda has nine representatives, with the NRM having six members, DP one, UPC one while the other is an independent.

Other member countries — Kenya, Burundi, Rwanda, and Tanzania — also send representatives to the assembly, whose seat is in Arusha, Tanzania.

Those who have so far expressed interest, according to Okoler, are:

1.       Vice President in charge of Northern Uganda Elia Alitia
2.       Treasurer General Babirye Kabanda
3.       Secretary-General Gerald Siranda
4.       Vice President in charge of Buganda Region Fred George Kagimu
5.       National Vice-Chairman Simon Opoka
6.       Secretary for International and Diaspora affairs Lyandro Komakech
7.       Women’s League President Aisha Nuluyati Waliggo
8.       Former Ngora parliamentary candidate Faith Namusana
9.       Former Njeru Municipality parliamentary candidate Richard Wansala
10.   Former Nakawa East Constituency parliamentary candidate Charles Ronny Keeno
11.   Briens Rukumbuka

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!