26.7 C
Wednesday, December 7, 2022

Tanga Odoi orders vote recount in Ibanda after MP Kaliisa challenged Bainomugisha’s victory

National Resistance Movement (NRM) Electoral Commission (EC) chairperson Dr Fred Tanga Odoi has ordered Ibanda District Registrar Moses Arimwerenga to conduct a vote recount of ballot and a fresh election in Rwahura Cell after incumbent Jovrine Kyomukama Kaliisa challenged Jane Bainomugisha’s win.

On September 05, incumbent Ibanda Woman MP Jovrine Kyomukama Kaliisa wrote Dr Tanga Odoi requesting his to order Arimwerenga to organize an election at Rwahura II Polling Station in Kagongo Division of Ibanda Municipality.

Kaliisa told Odoi that Rwahura II Cell had missed voting “due to uncoordinated information by some members of that village” and it would be in order for a poll to be held so the electorate could exercise their right to choose leaders.

She also prayed for an order for “vote recounting as some of the results do not tally with [those] the NRM Electoral Commission of Ibanda [has presented].”

In response, Dr Odoi directed Arimwerenga to “organise [an] election in Rwahura II Cell” and “please do a recount of the tally as well.”

Jovrine Kaliisa’s letter to Tanga Odoi, and the EC boss’ handwritten orders to Ibanda NRM registrar Moses Arimwerenga.


Bainomugisha defeated Kaliisa and former MP Margaret Kiboijana in a hotly contested September 04 NRM primary election.

Political new comer Bainomugisha garnered 37,606 votes ahead of Kaliisa’s 37,439, Margaret Kiboijana’s 19,319, Agnes Elvaida’s 1,555 and Obeth Asiimwe’s 607.

Byabagambi on next plan after losing Ibanda South election, says relieved of pressure from voters

Related Articles


- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -
error: Content is protected !!