NRM Primaries: Nyabushozi County residual elections postponed

Wilson Kajwengye, David Agom Andinda and incumbent Nyabushozi MP Col Fred Mwesigye.

The National Resistance Movement (NRM) party Electoral Commission has postponed residual elections for Nyabushozi constituency Flag bearer in the forthcoming general elections.

The Chairman NRM Electoral Commission, Dr Tanga Odoi has informed candidates that voting which had slated for wednesday has been pushed to Thursday due to unprecedented circumstances.

“Due to unavoidable circumstances, the residual election for Nyabushozi constituency MP that was originally slated for Wednesday 14th October 2020 have been postponed to Thursday 15th October 2020” Dr Tanga said in a letter to the candidates

Wilson Kajwengye’s campaign poster and Rtd Col Fred Mwesigye

This is the fourth time NRM party postpones voting in Nyabushozi in a space of a month. The first election was scheduled on 2nd October but was postponed to 6th before pushing it to 14th and now 15th October

Kiruhura registrar David Agom Andiinda on 4th September, declared Rtd Col. Fred Mwesigye as the duly elected NRM candidate for Nyabushozi County parliamentary seat with 36,147 votes followed by Wilson Kajwengye with 13,248 votes and Christopher Bakashaba with 5601 votes.

Kajwengye has since contested the declaration claiming that there was massive voter bribery, intimidation and other irregularities that informed the President to order for the arrest of the district registrar and fresh elections in 84 villages.

In a twist of events, the NRM party withdraw Mwesigye’s endorsement as the duly nominated flag bearer for Nyabushozi and organized fresh elections.

The elections are scheduled on the day the National electoral commission will begin nominating candidates for MP seat countrywide.

According to Electoral commission circular, the nomination of MPs will be begin on 15th up to 16th October at the electoral commission offices at every district. 

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!