22.7 C
Friday, December 2, 2022

NRM losers in Kigezi unite against flag bearers

At least 16 losers in the September 04 ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) elections in Kigezi sub region have ganged up against flag bearers ahead of the 2021 parliamentary elections.

Some of the Losers in NRM Primaries in Kigezi sub region. Courtesy Photo

The 16 accuse those they lost to of intimidating, bribing and harassing their supporters and conniving with security operatives and polling officials to rob them of their victories.

They have come together under a pressure group they have christened Kigezi NRM Frontliners.

Kigezi NRM Frontliners is under the chairmanship Simpson Mpirirwe.

Mpirirwe lost to David Bahati, the junior finance minister in charge of planning, in Ndorwa West.

He accuses President Yoweri Museveni, also the NRM Chairman, of failing to rein in rogue elements in the party.

The politician says the NRM Electoral Commission (EC) and the Elections Tribunal didn’t help them even when some of them filed formal complaints detailing electoral malpractices.

The NRM Frontliners have threatened to contest as independent candidates and to back independents in the parliamentary and presidential race against Museveni if he doesn’t crack the whip against those who stole their victories.

Already, four losers in Rukungiri District’s Rubabo County have elected to shun official flag bearer Mary Paula Turyahikayo and rally behind David Ndindirize Tushabomwe. who came the second in the NRM primary.

Dan Mbonigaba who lost to John Kamara in Bufumbira North and Francis Tiryoomwe who lost to Eddie Kwizera also declared they are ready to support any independents that will come in the race.

Pearl Times Reporter
Pearl Times Reporterhttps://pearltimes.co.ug
Latest Uganda news, politics, business, health and entertainment coverage.

Related Articles


- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -
error: Content is protected !!