26.7 C
Monday, August 8, 2022

Minister Tumwebaze unopposed for Kibale East MP seat after rivals withdrew from race

Frank Kagyigyi Tumwebaze, the minister of gender, labour and social development is the latest MP of the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) unopposed ahead of 2021 parliamentary elections.

The number of unopposed NRM MPs has now risen to nine.

They include Hilary Lokang of Ik county and Pius Wakabi of Bugahya, both unopposed for two terms now; Gyaviira Ssemwanga of Buyamba, Lilian Paparu Obiale of Arua, Anita Among of Bukedea, Emely Kugonza of Buyanja East, and Enock Nyongore of Nakaseke North.

Kamwenge District returning officer George William Magezi confirmed Tumwebaze’s unopposed status on November 19.

Magezi informed Electoral Commission (EC) chairperson Justice Simon Mugenyi Byabakama that the Minister’s opponents had pulled out of the Kibale East parliamentary race.

The race had attracted three candidates: Tumwebaze, George Wilson Agaba and Arthur Nuwagaba.

But Agaba and Nuwagaba informed Magezi of their decisions to withdraw from the race, leaving Tumwebaze unopposed.

Now, Magezi has declared Tumwebaze Kibale East MP in the 11th Parliament.

Pearl Times Reporter
Pearl Times Reporterhttps://pearltimes.co.ug
Latest Uganda news, politics, business, health and entertainment coverage.

Related Articles


- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -
error: Content is protected !!