Minister Mwesige defeated, Mutuuzo triumphs in Bunyangabu NRM Primaries

Ministers Adolf Mwesige and Peace Regis Mutuuzo. Courtesy Photos

Minister of defense and veterans affairs Adolf Kasaija Mwesige has joined the list of ministers who lost in September 04 National Resistance Movement (NRM) primaries.

Mwesige lost the Bunyangabu County parliamentary election to Davis Kamukama in a hotly contested election.  

Results announced by Bunyangabu District NRM registrar Robert Musiime early September 05 morning, indicate that Mwesige polled 18,067, thousands of votes behind Kamukama’s 22,445.

Vincent Womujuni and Robert Nyakahuma trailed with 1,993 and 1,881 votes, respectively.

Mwesige joined other ministers who have suffered defeat in NRM Primaries.

These included: Karamoja affairs minister John Byabagambi, privatization and investment minister Evelyn Anite, science, technology and innovation minister Dr Elioda Tumwesigye, Minister of general duties in the Office of the Prime Minister (OPM) Mary Karooro Okurut, and ethics and integrity Minister Fr Simon Lokodo.


Elsewhere in Bunyangabu, state minister for gender and culture Peace Regis Mutuuzo comfortably won the race for the the Woman MP flag bearer.

Mutuuzo garnered 33,684 votes while her rivals Elizabeth Kijumba, Lydia Kiiza, and Lillian Katuutu, who polled 4,578; 2,998 and 833, respectively.

Lokodo joins Anite, Karooro, Byabagambi, Tumwesigye on list of ministers defeated in NRM Primaries

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!