20.5 C
Tuesday, January 31, 2023

Minister Kasaija unopposed for Buyanja MP seat after opponent withdrew

Maria Kasaija, the minister of finance, planning and economic development, is the latest member of the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) to sail to the 11th Parliament unopposed.

Kasaija is officially Kibaale District’s Buyanja County MP after his opponent Paul Kyalimpa pulled out.

Kibaale District returning officer Aggrey James Ipeto has written to Electoral Commission (EC) chairperson Justice Simon Mugenyi Byabakama, through the Commission secretary, communicating Kyalimpa’s withdrawal from the race.

Ipeto also declared Kasaija the duly elected Buyanja County MP.

The list of unopposed NRM MPs also includes Frank Tumwebaze, the minister of gender, labour and social development.

Pearl Times Reporter
Pearl Times Reporterhttps://pearltimes.co.ug
Latest Uganda news, politics, business, health and entertainment coverage.

Related Articles


Latest Articles

error: Content is protected !!