21.7 C
Wednesday, August 10, 2022

Minister Baryomunsi Appointed Chief Advisor of NRM Group Pushing for Constitutional Amendment for Only MPs to Elect President

The Transformer Cadres Association of Uganda (TCAU) has appointed Information Minister Dr Chris Baryomunsi as a member of its advisory board as the group beefs up efforts to achieve its goals, including a proposal for a referendum on the change to a parliamentary system where the president would be voted for by members of parliament. 

TCAU brings together NRM cadres who participated in the ruling party’s primaries and even the general parliamentary elections but were rejected by voters. Its leader is Felix Ongwech Adupa, a 2021 election losers for the Kioga Constituency where he stood as an independent but was trounced by FDC’s Moses Okot Junior.

In his capacity as the President of Transformer Carders Association Uganda, Ongwech, has ridden on the Constitution that governs TCAU as well as sections 16 (e-g) and 19 of its rules of procedure to appoint Baryomunsi, also the Kinkizi East MP, as member of the group’s advisory board.

Also appointed on the TCAU board is Harriet Ntabazi, the Minister of State in charge of Trade, senior presidential aide and advisor David Mafabi, Ian Gumisiriza and Advocate Adam Makmot Kibwanga.

A total of 13 other people were appointed to take up positions of leadership in the Transformer Carders Association Uganda. These are:

  1. Easter wafula Busingye: National Chief Coordinator
  2. Ambassador Richard Laus Angualia: Director for Research and Development
  3. Sarah Awor Angweri: Deputy Chief Whip
  4. Joseph Angole: Deputy Director for Legal Affairs
  5. Margaret Amoriot Khedi: Deputy Director for Communications and Publicity
  6. Noah Lutakome: Chairperson for the ‘Extra-mobilization Committee
  7. Abraham Opio: Deputy Chairperson in charge of Discipline
  8. DS Omagor: External Relations and Diplomatic Affairs
  9. Didas Taboora: Director for Mobilization
  10. Onesmas Tumutegyerize: Head of Finance and Administration
  11. Teddy Awuma: Head of Welfare and Protocol
  12. Patrick Adima: Deputy Head of Welfare and Protocol
  13. John Igumira as the director in charge of Youth Affairs.

In January 2022, reports that President Museveni’s government was planning amendments to make sure that only MPs, instead of all Uganda, vote for the president emerged, leaving some political observers questioning the move. (Read Story Here).

NOTHING WRONG! Top Museveni Government Official Opens Up on Plot to Change Constitution to Allow Only MPs Elect President

Pearl Times Reporter
Pearl Times Reporterhttps://pearltimes.co.ug
Latest Uganda news, politics, business, health and entertainment coverage.

Related Articles


- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -
error: Content is protected !!