error: Content is protected !!

List: Defence Council declines to nominate top generals; Muhoozi, Elwelu elected UPDF MPs; Tumwine dropped

CDF David Muhoozi, Elly Tumwine and Peter Elwelu. Courtesy Photo

Security minister Gen Elly Tumwine has lost his quest to represent the UPDF in the 11th Parliament, but chief of defence forces Gen David Muhoozi and land forces commander Lt Gen Peter Elwelu were elected.

Also dropped as army MPs were Col Felix Kulayigye, Gen Ivan Koreta, Maj Gen Pecos Kutesa, Brig Flavia Byekwaso, Capt Evelyn Asiimwe and Col Francis Takirwa.

The Defence Council had declined to nominate these serving MPs for reelection.

In the exercise that happened at Land Forces Headquarters in Bombo, 17 officers had been nominated for election.


Gen Elly Tumwine
Gen Edward Katumba wamala
Gen David Muhoozi
Lt Gen Wilson Mbadi
Lt Gen Peter Elwelu
Lt Gen Charles Otema Awany
Lt Gen Charles Lutaaya
Lt Gen Andrew Gutti
Lt Gen James Mugira
Maj Gen Sam Kiwanuka
Maj Gen Sam Kavuma
Maj Gen Henry Masiko
Maj Gen Sam Okiding
Brig Gen James Kinalwa
Brig Gen Michael Kisame
Brig Gen Francis Chemo
Brig Gen Ogik Bob Paciesky
Col Dr Victoria Nekesa
Lt Col charity Bainababo
Lt Col Susan Mwanga
Lt Col Dr Jenifer Alanyo.

Elected MPs

Col Dr Victor Nekesa,
Lt Col Charity Bainababo,
Maj Dr Jennifer Alanyo


Gen David Muhoozi

Gen Edward Katumba Wamala
Lt Gen Wilson Mbasu Mbadi
Lt Gen Peter Elwelu
Lt Gen James Mugira
Maj Gen Henry Matsiko
Maj Gen Sam Kavuma

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!