Home 2021 Elections Ibanda Woman MP, brother summoned for assaulting NRM Registrar

Ibanda Woman MP, brother summoned for assaulting NRM Registrar

Ibanda Woman MP Jovrine Kyomukama Kaliisa
Ibanda Woman MP Jovrine Kyomukama Kaliisa. Courtesy Photo

Ibanda Grade II Magistrate has issued criminal summons against MP Jovrine Kyomukama Kaliisa, her brother Julius Katusiime and a one Afra Nyamwiza over assault charges.

Kaliisa, Katusiime and Nyamwiza are accused of causing bodily harm to Innocent Amwine, the Ibanda District Deputy Registrar of the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM).

They are expected to defend themselves against the charges instituted against them.

The trio will appear before the magistrate on October 14 or risk arrest for contempt of court.

“You are hereby commanded to appear before the Chief Magistrate at 9:00am in the morning or as soon thereafter as the case can be heard,” reads the summons in part.

Atwine filed a case of assault against against Kaliisa and her brother Katusiime three weeks ago during the NRM party elections.

The Directorate of Public Prosecutions (DPP) sanction the file under case number 635/2020.

But the accused were no show in court as directed, prompting the magistrate to issue criminal summons against them.

Kaliisa has confirmed receiving the summons but it remained unclear if she would honor them.


In his statement recorded at the Ibanda Police station, Amwine narrated that on a Sunday, Kaliisa stormed his home, kidnapped him and his son.

Amwine also accuses Kaliisa of torturing him and his son.

He further alleged the day following polling day, Kaliisa stormed the NRM party office and tried to force him to declare her as the winner.

Efforts for an out-of-court resolution of the matter between him and the MP were futile, Amwine added.

According to results announced late September 04, Kaliisa garnered 37,439 votes, and was second to Jane Bainomugisha who polled 37,606.

But Kaliisa petitioned the NRM Electoral Commission Chairperson Dr Tanga Odoi and the NRM Tribunal seeking a review of the results and demanding fresh polling in some villages.

In the end, Dr Tanga Odoi overturned Bainomugisha’s victory and declared Kaliisa the NRM flag bearer.

The results declared at the weekend put Kaliisa ahead with 38,124 votes, followed by. Bainomugisha who polled 37,666.

error: Content is protected !!