error: Content is protected !!

FRIDAY SPEAKER, DEPUTY SPEAKER ELECTIONS: It’s Asuman Basalirwa Vs Anita Among & Moses Okot P’Bitek Vs Thomas Tayebwa

Anita Among, Asuman Basalirwa, Moses Okot and Thomas Tayebwa

MPs of the 11th Parliament will on Friday choose their next speaker and deputy speaker and the ruling NRM and opposition camps have named their candidates. 

NRM has chosen Anita Among, the Bukedea District Woman MP and current deputy speaker, for the speaker race. (Read Story Here).

The ruling party has also chosen government chief whip Thomas Tayebwa to contest for the deputy speaker position. (Read Story Here).

The opposition has endorsed Bugiri Municipality MP Asuman Basalirwa, also Jeema President, for the speakership, after he got 49 votes to beat Jonathan Odur who managed 20 votes.

Kioga County MP Moses Okot P’Bitek will face NRM’s Tayebwa for the deputy speaker position.

Jacob Oulanyah Was Not Poisoned, Says Late Speaker’s Close Friend

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!