20.5 C
Tuesday, January 31, 2023

DISMISSED: Ingrid Turinawe, two other independents expelled from FDC

Main opposition Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) has dismissed three party members, including former Women’s League chairperson and strongwoman Ingrid Turinawe for standing as independents.

Others dismissed from the party are Winnie Babihuga and Darius Tweyambe.

Turinawe, Babihuga and Tweyambe refused to quit parliamentary races after they lost FDC primaries.

In August, Turinawe and incumbent MP Rolland Kaginda Mugume have lost the party election for Rukungiri Municipality 2021 parliamentary flag bearer.

Turinawe and Mugume lost to Dr Wallen Nuwagaba Katoora Tumwine.

Dr Tumwine polled 130 ahead of Turinawe who garnered 65, and Mugume who managed 62.

The other aspirants were Benon Rwenzigye, Herbert Mbabazi Kawawa, and Francis Musimire.

Dr Tumwine secured a comfortable win, doubling his closest Challenger Turinawe, and would still win had all his rivals combined all their votes.

But while incumbent legislator Mugume conceded and is now the head of Patrick Oboi Amuriat (POA) presidential election campaign, defiant Turinawe chose to stand as an independent candidate.

In a statement FDC secretary general Nathan Nandala Mafabi wrote to the party’s chairperson for Rukungiri District on December 07, Turinawe, Babihuga and Tweyambe have been dismissed from the party.

In his letter titled ‘Dismissal of Independent Candidates,’ SG Mafabi quotes the party’s Constitution’s Article 12(d) on Cessation.

“If a member joins another party or in an election stands as an independent ceases to be a member of FDC,” wrote Mafabi.

“The entire public is hereby informed that these independent candidates are not members of FDC and have no moral authority to act on behalf of FDC.”

He ordered the district party chairperson to ensure that FDC members and structures ‘only solicit support for FDC candidates.”

He also warned party members campaigning for Turinawe and other independent candidates.

“Any member of the party who campaigns for an independent or otherwise shall be dismissed from the party,” warned Mafabi in a letter copied to the FDC party president, the chairperson of the Electoral Commission and all flag bearers.

He further told Turinawe, Bahihuga and Tweyambe to “immediately stop using the FDC sign and colors otherwise we shall advise the Electoral Commission to disqualify them.”

The FDC has also confirmed its Rukungiri flag bearers as Tumwine (Rukungiri Municipality), Betty Muzanira (Woman MP Rukungiri), Charles Maharu (Mayor Rukungiri Municipality), Fred Turyamuhweza (Rujumbura Constituency) and Naboth Namanya (Rubabo County).

Pearl Times Reporter
Pearl Times Reporterhttps://pearltimes.co.ug
Latest Uganda news, politics, business, health and entertainment coverage.

Related Articles


Latest Articles

error: Content is protected !!