error: Content is protected !!

BREAKING: Shock & Tears in Bobi Wine’s NUP Camp as EC Declares NRM Candidate Andrew Muwonge Kayunga LCV Byelection Winner

NRM candidate Andrew Muwonge beats NUP's Harriet Nakwedde to win Kayunga LCV byelection

The Electoral Commission (EC) has declared ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) candidate Andrew Muwonge the winner of the Kayunga District LCV byelection, leaving opposition National Unity Platform (NUP) candidate Harriet Nakwedde Kafeero in tears and shock.

According to official EC results, NRM’s Muwonge garnered 31,830 votes while NUP’s Nakawedde got 31,308.

This means that the poll was decided by a margin of about 522 votes.

Independent candidate Majid Nyanzi polled 1,287; Boniface Musisi Bandikubi (Independent) got 470; Jamilu Kamoga (Independent) polled 279 while Waddimba Anthony (DP) managed 158.

Kayunga District Returning Officer Jennifer Kyobutungi declared Muwonge the winner at 08:57am on December 17 morning.

Earlier NUP had declared that its candidate had won.

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!